1919 - 2022

Margaret B. Watkins was born May 28, 1919, in Columbia, South Carolina to Nevin and Bertha Biser. She was an accomplished pianist and teacher of piano for over 60 years, the majority of which were in Harrisonburg, Virginia, where she settled with her husband and piano professor Lowell M. Watkins in the late 1940s.

She began learning piano at eight years of age from her father, who encouraged her to accompany him on the violin for local appearances at music clubs and other venues, and later to play in piano trios, quartets, and quintets informally with his ensemble at home. At college, she majored in piano at Peabody Conservatory of Music in Baltimore, Maryland and received the Teacher's Certificate in Piano in 1940 and the Bachelor of Music Degree in Piano in 1941 under Austin Conradi.

She held numerous teaching positions in piano and music between 1941 and 1948 before beginning her career in private piano instruction in 1948 in Harrisonburg, Virginia. In 1968, she initiated the Harrisonburg center for the National Guild of Piano Teachers Auditions, and was Chairperson until 1989. Her students have participated in numerous annual recitals and many have received notable awards and critical recognition.

Margaret B. Watkins was an artist and an inspiration to generations of pianists, musicians, and music-lovers alike.

Margaret B. Watkins
~ Selected Videos ~

Margaret B. Watkins ~ "Reverie" by Claude Debussy

Video & editing by Benjamin von Cramon, Cary, NC, circa 2006

Margaret B. Watkins ~ piano piece by Maurice Ravel

Charlottesville, VA, circa 2002

Margaret B. Watkins
~ Selected Recordings ~

Ravel ~ "Sonatine, Modéré" (1988)

Beethoven ~ "Für Elise" (2005)

Debussy ~ "Ręverie" (2005)

Dohnanyi ~ "Postludium" (2005)

Chopin ~ "Minute Waltz" (1988)

Debussy ~ "Clair de lune" (1988)

Lowell and Margaret Watkins, 1960  

Duke Gardens, 2004  

With Bosko and Nina, circa 2009  

With Bosko and Nina, circa 2010  

Christmas 2004  

Mother's Day 1999  

Mother's Day 1999  

Mother's Day 1999